- Permissions & Settings

Permissions & Settings to Create, Edit & Publish New Versions of Documents

Permissions

Permissions to manage controlled documents are generally grouped by type of document so there is a set of permissions for each type (e.g., Policies, SOPs, Documents, etc.). This allows closer control of who can access or modify a given type of document so for example, a user can be an editor of SOPs in a given OU but not have any ability to alter policies.
Permissions below are grouped by the steps in the process - different permissions are required to create new versions of documents, edit them and manage the publishing process.

PLEASE NOTE: To reduce the amount of information in this article, it only shows permissions relating to documents of the type, Document. All other document types have equivalent permissions. For example, the permissions to authorise are, "Documents:Authorise Documents", "Policies:Authorise Policies", "SOPs:Authorise SOPs", etc.

Permissions to Create New Versions of Documents

  • In addition to basic viewer access, permissions are required to create new draft versions and view them:
Permission Description
Documents:Create New Versions Allow a user to revise existing documents
Documents:View Draft Documents Allow a user to view draft documents
Documents:View Under Review Documents Allow a user to view under review documents

Permissions to Edit Draft Documents

  • To have access to the inline editor (Edit Document button):
Permission Description
Documents:View Draft Documents Allow a user to view draft documents
Documents:Edit Documents Allow a user to edit draft documents
  • To upload and retrieve source files in the draft document:
Permission Description
Documents:View Draft Documents Allow a user to view draft documents
Documents:Create Documents Allow a user to create documents
Documents:Edit Documents Allow a user to edit draft documents

Permissions to adjust Review Settings and Start Review Workflow

  • To view and adjust Review Settings and to start review cycles in a draft:
Permission Description
Documents:View Draft Documents Allow a user to view draft documents
Documents:Edit Workflow Settings Allow a user to edit workflow settings for documents
Documents:Schedule Reviews Allow a user to schedule reviews for documents
  • To request review feedback (in the Reviews tab) and approve/reject Change Requests:
Permission Description
Documents:View Draft Documents Allow a user to view draft documents
Documents:Manage Review Tasks Allow a user to schedule and manage review tasks for documents

Permissions to progress to publishing

  • To Request Authorisation (when no publishing workflow is used):
Permission Description
Documents:View Draft Documents Allow a user to view draft documents
Documents:Edit Documents Allow a user to edit draft documents
  • To view and adjust Publishing Settings and to Start Publishing Workflow in a draft:
Permission Description
Documents:View Draft Documents Allow a user to view draft documents
Documents:Edit Workflow Settings Allow a user to edit workflow settings for documents
Documents:Start Publishing Workflow Allow the user to start publishing workflows on Documents

Permissions to Authorise and Approve Publishing

  • To Authorise or Approve publishing a document:
Permission Description
Documents:View Draft Documents Allow a user to view draft documents
Documents:Authorise Documents Allow a user to authorise documents

Please refer to the settings below for special conditions.


All the permissions above are included in the Global Editor system roles and in the case of documents of the type, Document, they are also included in the system role, Document Editor. There is a system ‘editor’ role for each type of document.

Settings

There are settings which can overrule the permissions a user has to access certain documents. They are found in the Document Control pages of the Organisational Unit Preferences settings area. They only apply to documents which belong in the OU where the preference is adjusted.

Document access controls

In the context of creating new document versions and publishing them, the following preferences are important to be aware of:

  • Allow a user assigned an Authorisation Request to authorise the document regardless of their permissions
    When this preference is enabled, an authorisation request is all that’s required to qualify the nominated user to complete the task.

    This preference has been added in the context of publishing workflows, which can be designed by adding any users and then can be shared with other OUs.
    When no publishing workflows are used and authorisation of a document is requested from other users, the filter to select authorisers will only present those who have permission to authorise that type of document in that OU, regardless of whether this preference is enabled or not.

  • Allow Document Owners to perform any action on their documents, regardless of permissions
    When this preference is enabled, document owners have full control over their documents, from creating new versions to authorising them or even deleting them.

Online Document Editing

  • Enable online document editing
    The online editor is enabled by default but it is possible to disable it so that updates can only be made by uploading new source files.

Document Versioning

  • Use Major and Minor Document Versioning
    By default, it is possible to choose whether a new version is a major or a minor revision. Major revisions increment the version in whole numbers. For example, a document revisioned from version 1.0 (or v1.1, v1.2, etc.) will be published as version 2.0. Minor revisions follow the settings made in the ‘Versioning’ pages of System Preferences. Please refer to the Versioning section of the user guide, System Settings Management for further detail. As an example, with default settings a minor revision would incrememnt from v1.0 to v1.1.

To enable or disable these preferences:

  1. Go to Administration > Settings > Organisational Unit Preferences
  2. Select the OU where the documents of interest reside in the field, Organisational Unit
  3. Click the Document Control row
  4. Locate the preference and tick/untick the checkbox next to it
  5. Scroll down and click Save

Next Step:
The next article covers Creating and Editing New Versions Of Documents
Previous Step:
The previous article covers Overview